Urbee, By Jim Kor

Urbee is a 3D printed hybrid car that is 8 times more energy efficient than a typical car. For the full story behind its inception take a look at this video. You will not regret your 20 minutes so just watch it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yhJCTMkn9Yo

My mind has been gravitating towards hardware these days and Urbee has been the final blow. As a child I wanted to grow up to build robots. I loosely followed that dream, focusing in physics throughout high school and applying to Penn as a mechanical engineering major. However I had switched to computer science b/c the traditional ME curriculum and the industry itself seemed uninspiring. Since then I have been meddling with code and found it to be enjoyable, but it never really struck a chord in my heart. Urbee, however, does. 3D printing is completely liberating traditional manufacturing. Software enhanced 3D printed vehicles might be what I have been looking for all along. Absolutely thrilled.